Of 50 VR and simulation studies published 2015 to 2026 (Europe PMC, PubMed), 41 of 50 stopped at reaction or learning.
By Kim Loza, Head of Product at People Tech Revolution
41 of 50
studies stopped at reaction or learning
PTR evidence table, 2015 to 2026
13 of 14
VR studies measured on the day alone
PTR evidence table, 2015 to 2026
6.4 times
growth in training papers, 2015 to 2025
PubMed, read 26 September 2026
RR 1.14
long-term aggression, trained against untrained
Cochrane review, 2020
The answer
Mostly the training room: of 50 studies we coded, 41 of 50 measured reaction or learning, and 8 of 50 reached incident or restraint data.
| Measure | Studies |
|---|---|
| Level 1, reaction | 6 of 50 |
| Level 2, learning | 35 of 50 |
| Level 3, behaviour at work | 1 of 50 |
| Level 4, results | 8 of 50 |
Studies by the highest Kirkpatrick level measured, published 2015 to 2026, coded by PTR. Source: Europe PMC; PubMed; Kirkpatrick Partners levels.
Level 2 is confidence, knowledge, attitudes and skill inside a simulation, so 82% of studies never looked past the session. The behaviour result was self-reported, and every Level 4 result came from an uncontrolled package or a feasibility trial on 3 wards.
So what for you: ask a provider which level its evidence reached before reading its percentages.
13 of 14 VR studies stopped at reaction or learning, against 28 of 36 studies with actors, standardised patients or role play. Just 13 of 50 studies had a comparison group.
Coded from Europe PMC and PubMed: staff training with VR, 360 video, actors or role play.
The problem
The violence the training is bought for has risen: US health care recorded 6.4 cases per 10,000 full-time workers (2011) and 11.9 (2023 and 2024).
| 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021-22 | 2023-24 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Annual rate | 6.4 | 7.0 | 7.8 | 8.2 | 8.0 | 8.4 | 9.1 | 10.4 | 9.7 | 10.3 | ||
| Annualised 2-year average | 9.8 | 11.9 |
Per 10,000 full-time workers, 2011 to 2024; the last 2 points are annualised 2-year averages, with a new event code from 2023. Source: BLS fact sheet, 2018; BLS Table R8, 2019 to 2023-24.
The annual rate for private health care and social assistance went from 6.4 (2011) to 10.3 (2020). The 2-year average for 2023 and 2024 was 11.9, against 2.6 across private industry, under a revised event code.
So what for you: training is bought against this rate, so its evidence has to reach incidents.
In 2023 and 2024, psychiatric and substance abuse hospitals recorded 138.8 such cases per 10,000 full-time workers (BLS Table R8).
Since 1 January 2022, Joint Commission hospital requirements expect de-escalation training at hire, yearly and on program changes; home care followed on 1 January 2025 (R3 Report Issue 45, the home care report).
Attention
Fast: PubMed records on de-escalation and workplace violence training rose 6.4 times from 2015 to 2025, while PubMed as a whole grew 1.5 times.
| 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| De-escalation or workplace violence training | 37 | 42 | 38 | 55 | 63 | 107 | 102 | 139 | 121 | 135 | 237 |
| VR and aggression or de-escalation training | 1 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 5 | 8 | 8 | 5 | 5 | 12 |
Records per year, 2015 to 2025; 2026 is partial and not shown. Source: PubMed counts via NCBI E-utilities, read 26 September 2026.
The count reached 237 records (2025), up from 37 (2015), while all of PubMed moved from 1,258,176 to 1,881,905. VR aggression or de-escalation training papers were 12 of 812 VR health education papers in 2025.
So what for you: expect more pilots each year, and judge each by its design rather than its date.
Attention, not quality: title and abstract matches, with an indexing lag.
Across reviews
They do: Tang 2026 found no VR study testing organisational impact, and Kyaw 2019 none reporting behaviour change.
| Measure | Studies with outcome data |
|---|---|
| Tang 2026, VR de-escalation | 0 of 15 |
| Kyaw 2019, VR in health education | 0 of 31 |
| Dafny 2025, nurses on placement | 1 of 13 |
| Mitchell 2024, simulation | 4 of 25 |
| PTR table, 2015 to 2026 | 8 of 50 |
| Geoffrion 2020, Cochrane, controlled designs | 5 of 9 |
Studies with outcome data over studies included, reviews published 2019 to 2026. Source: Tang 2026; Kyaw 2019; Dafny 2025; Mitchell 2024; Geoffrion 2020.
VR reviews found none. The Cochrane review found 5 of 9 controlled studies counting aggression, and its long-term estimate crossed no effect.
So what for you: treat an incident claim from a VR pilot as new evidence and ask for its design.
Tang and colleagues rated 3 studies at Level 3. All 3 treated aggressive patients; every staff training study stopped at Level 1 or 2.
Of 25 simulation studies with 2,790 participants, 24 of 25 were at high or serious risk of bias and 4 of 25 collected patient outcomes (Mitchell 2024).
Confidence
Not reliably: confidence rises in almost every study, yet in 4 of 6 studies measuring self-report and observed skill together, the measures disagreed.
Different outcomes and designs; read each bar alone.
| Measure | Standardised effect |
|---|---|
| Confidence, controlled studies (Chung 2025) | 0.85 |
| Confidence, uncontrolled studies (Chung 2025) | 0.71 |
| Confidence after a 20-minute VR session (Johnson 2026) | 0.70 |
| Knowledge (Geoffrion 2020) | 0.86 |
| Skills (Geoffrion 2020) | 0.21 |
Standardised mean difference or Cohen’s d, published 2020 to 2026. Source: Chung 2025; Johnson 2026; Geoffrion 2020.
Pooled confidence sits at 0.85 in controlled studies and knowledge at 0.86. The Cochrane skill estimate was 0.21, with an interval that includes no effect.
So what for you: put an observed skill measure beside every confidence survey.
In a cluster randomised trial of 26 psychiatry residents, simulated performance rose (d = 1.6) while confidence matched control. In a paediatric trial and a medical school OSCE, observed skill did not differ while self-ratings rose.
Johnson and colleagues ran a 20-minute VR session with 223 participants in Australian nursing programs. Confidence rose (d = 0.70), 93% called VR suitable and 89% wanted more, with no comparison group or later check.
In Taiwan, 54 nurses rated confidence at 60.04 before 360 video VR and 71.93 after, measured on the day (Lin 2026).
Incidents
Controlled studies have not shown it: the Cochrane review (1,688 participants) put the long-term risk ratio at 1.14, an interval spanning no effect.
Heckemann 2015 found no change in patient aggression and Brenig 2023 no relevant impact on forensic ward incidents; in Okubo 2022, 4 of 11 controlled studies reported less violence and the pooled estimate was null.
A psychiatric emergency program recorded 35% fewer restraints and 52% fewer injuries over 5 months after simulation than before, with no control group, alongside teamwork and crisis prevention programs (Bowllan 2025).
In an emergency medicine residency, 28% of residents reported assault before its program, 11.3% a year after, and 30.6% 5 years later, once in-person training had stopped (Roppolo 2025).
| Measure | Studies |
|---|---|
| Immediate, end of session | 35 of 50 |
| Under 3 months | 2 of 50 |
| 3 to 6 months | 7 of 50 |
| Over 6 months | 1 of 50 |
| Not reported | 5 of 50 |
Studies by their longest follow-up, published 2015 to 2026, coded by PTR. Source: Europe PMC; PubMed.
35 of 50 studies measured on the day and not again, and 1 of 50 looked beyond 6 months. A reading taken at the session overstates what lasts.
So what for you: build a later check into the pilot plan before the pilot starts.
Head to head
In the short term, perhaps: 22 police officers in VR and 20 in live action each beat 21 controls by similar margins (Lavoie 2023).
1 of 14 VR studies compared VR with live practice. Officers were allocated by scheduling availability, outliers were removed, and follow-up was short.
An NHS feasibility trial allocated wards to VR training (34 staff) or usual care (22 staff). Restrictive practice fell with fluctuation on wards that started higher, and 8 and 5 remained at the 6-month follow-up.
Western Sydney clinicians (28 participants, Moore 2022) found talking with a virtual agent feasible but flagged motion sickness and privacy; a US pilot with 13 providers scored usability 63.30 out of 100.
Demand
Increasingly: worldwide searches for de-escalation training rose 5.8 times from 2022 to 2025, and for workplace violence training 5.1 times (Google Trends).
US states with laws to prevent health care workplace violence went from 11 before 2015 to 27 by June 2024 (Lombardi 2026).
The OSHA rule on workplace violence in health care sits among long-term actions, with no proposal date.
Evidence table
Design, sample, measure and result for each source.
| Study | Design | Sample | What was measured | Result |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tang et al. (2026), Frontiers in Medicine | Review, VR | 15 studies | Kirkpatrick level | None tested organisational impact |
| Geoffrion et al. (2020), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews | Review, controlled designs | 9 studies, 1,688 participants | Aggression, knowledge, skills | RR 1.14; knowledge 0.86; skills 0.21 |
| Mitchell et al. (2024), International Journal of Nursing Studies | Review, simulation | 25 studies, 2,790 participants | Learning, performance | 24 of 25 high or serious bias risk |
| Chung et al. (2025), International Nursing Review | Meta-analysis | 10 studies | Confidence | SMD 0.85; d 0.71 |
| Kyaw et al. (2019), Journal of Medical Internet Research | Meta-analysis, VR education | 31 trials | Knowledge, skills | Skills SMD 1.12; no behaviour outcomes |
| Jameyfield et al. (2026), Academic Medicine | Review, verbal de-escalation | 56 studies | Evidence strength | 12 of 56 strong, all blended |
| Okubo et al. (2022), Revista Latino-Americana de Enfermagem | Meta-analysis | 11 studies | Violence | 4 of 11 positive; pooled null |
| Johnson et al. (2026), Teaching and Learning in Nursing | Uncontrolled, VR | 223 enrolled, 221 analysed | Confidence | d = 0.70 |
| Lavoie et al. (2023), Policing | Non-randomised, 3 arms | 63 officers | Scored de-escalation | VR and live comparable |
| Phiri et al. (2024), World Journal of Psychiatry | Feasibility, wards allocated | 34 staff, 22 staff | Restrictive practice | Fell, with fluctuation |
| Vestal et al. (2017), Academic Psychiatry | Cluster randomised trial | 26 residents | Performance, confidence | d = 1.6; confidence same |
| Bowllan et al. (2025), J Am Psychiatr Nurses Assoc | Before and after service data | Emergency program staff | Restraints, injuries | 35% and 52% fewer; no control |
| Roppolo et al. (2025), AEM Education and Training | Repeated survey | Residents | Reported assault | 28%, 11.3%, 30.6% |
For buyers
Use the evidence to set the questions, the measures and the promise.
Board paper lines, ready to paste into a business case
Of 50 VR and simulation de-escalation studies from 2015 to 2026, 41 of 50 measured reaction or learning, and every study reporting incidents (8 of 50) used an uncontrolled or feasibility design (PTR evidence table, 2026). A Cochrane review of education to prevent aggression toward health workers reported a long-term risk ratio of 1.14, an interval that includes no effect (Geoffrion and colleagues, 2020). Confidence gains are large, a pooled standardised mean difference of 0.85 in controlled studies (Chung and colleagues, 2025), so evaluations need observed skill and incident baselines too.
What the data cannot show, and how each figure was read.
PTR builds VR and AI practice for these moments, and designs pilots that reach past the training room with an observed skill measure, a comparator and a later check. See VR de-escalation training, de-escalation training programs, AI roleplay practice and training for safety and wellbeing leads. PTR built the VR program in a Mayo Clinic randomised study that followed nursing leaders for up to 8 months; it measured empathy, not de-escalation.
Free to quote and cite with a link to this page. Name the version you read, so readers can see what has changed since.
APA 7
Loza, K. (2026, September 27). 41 of 50 studies stop in the training room: what VR de-escalation research has and has not measured (Version 2.0). People Tech Revolution. https://peopletechrevolution.com/insights/vr-de-escalation-training-evidence
Data: PTR evidence table of 50 studies coded from Europe PMC and PubMed, 2015 to 2026; reviews by Tang, Geoffrion, Mitchell, Chung and Kyaw; PubMed E-utilities counts; BLS Table R8; Google Trends; Joint Commission R3 Reports. Read 26 September 2026.
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| Version 2.0 | Rebuilt on a 50-study evidence table, 30 reviews, PubMed counts and BLS incidence data: key numbers, 6 charts, an evidence table, decisions and limits. | |
| Version 1.0 | First published. |
Each study and dataset at its publisher.












Violence rates, 2011 to 2018.


Hospital training requirements.

The level definitions.
Of 50 VR and simulation studies published 2015 to 2026 (Europe PMC, PubMed), 41 of 50 stopped at reaction or learning.
By Kim Loza, Head of Product at People Tech Revolution
41 of 50
studies stopped at reaction or learning
PTR evidence table, 2015 to 2026
13 of 14
VR studies measured on the day alone
PTR evidence table, 2015 to 2026
6.4 times
growth in training papers, 2015 to 2025
PubMed, read 26 September 2026
RR 1.14
long-term aggression, trained against untrained
Cochrane review, 2020
The answer
Mostly the training room: of 50 studies we coded, 41 of 50 measured reaction or learning, and 8 of 50 reached incident or restraint data.
| Measure | Studies |
|---|---|
| Level 1, reaction | 6 of 50 |
| Level 2, learning | 35 of 50 |
| Level 3, behaviour at work | 1 of 50 |
| Level 4, results | 8 of 50 |
Studies by the highest Kirkpatrick level measured, published 2015 to 2026, coded by PTR. Source: Europe PMC; PubMed; Kirkpatrick Partners levels.
Level 2 is confidence, knowledge, attitudes and skill inside a simulation, so 82% of studies never looked past the session. The behaviour result was self-reported, and every Level 4 result came from an uncontrolled package or a feasibility trial on 3 wards.
So what for you: ask a provider which level its evidence reached before reading its percentages.
13 of 14 VR studies stopped at reaction or learning, against 28 of 36 studies with actors, standardised patients or role play. Just 13 of 50 studies had a comparison group.
Coded from Europe PMC and PubMed: staff training with VR, 360 video, actors or role play.
The problem
The violence the training is bought for has risen: US health care recorded 6.4 cases per 10,000 full-time workers (2011) and 11.9 (2023 and 2024).
| 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021-22 | 2023-24 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Annual rate | 6.4 | 7.0 | 7.8 | 8.2 | 8.0 | 8.4 | 9.1 | 10.4 | 9.7 | 10.3 | ||
| Annualised 2-year average | 9.8 | 11.9 |
Per 10,000 full-time workers, 2011 to 2024; the last 2 points are annualised 2-year averages, with a new event code from 2023. Source: BLS fact sheet, 2018; BLS Table R8, 2019 to 2023-24.
The annual rate for private health care and social assistance went from 6.4 (2011) to 10.3 (2020). The 2-year average for 2023 and 2024 was 11.9, against 2.6 across private industry, under a revised event code.
So what for you: training is bought against this rate, so its evidence has to reach incidents.
In 2023 and 2024, psychiatric and substance abuse hospitals recorded 138.8 such cases per 10,000 full-time workers (BLS Table R8).
Since 1 January 2022, Joint Commission hospital requirements expect de-escalation training at hire, yearly and on program changes; home care followed on 1 January 2025 (R3 Report Issue 45, the home care report).
Attention
Fast: PubMed records on de-escalation and workplace violence training rose 6.4 times from 2015 to 2025, while PubMed as a whole grew 1.5 times.
| 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| De-escalation or workplace violence training | 37 | 42 | 38 | 55 | 63 | 107 | 102 | 139 | 121 | 135 | 237 |
| VR and aggression or de-escalation training | 1 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 5 | 8 | 8 | 5 | 5 | 12 |
Records per year, 2015 to 2025; 2026 is partial and not shown. Source: PubMed counts via NCBI E-utilities, read 26 September 2026.
The count reached 237 records (2025), up from 37 (2015), while all of PubMed moved from 1,258,176 to 1,881,905. VR aggression or de-escalation training papers were 12 of 812 VR health education papers in 2025.
So what for you: expect more pilots each year, and judge each by its design rather than its date.
Attention, not quality: title and abstract matches, with an indexing lag.
Across reviews
They do: Tang 2026 found no VR study testing organisational impact, and Kyaw 2019 none reporting behaviour change.
| Measure | Studies with outcome data |
|---|---|
| Tang 2026, VR de-escalation | 0 of 15 |
| Kyaw 2019, VR in health education | 0 of 31 |
| Dafny 2025, nurses on placement | 1 of 13 |
| Mitchell 2024, simulation | 4 of 25 |
| PTR table, 2015 to 2026 | 8 of 50 |
| Geoffrion 2020, Cochrane, controlled designs | 5 of 9 |
Studies with outcome data over studies included, reviews published 2019 to 2026. Source: Tang 2026; Kyaw 2019; Dafny 2025; Mitchell 2024; Geoffrion 2020.
VR reviews found none. The Cochrane review found 5 of 9 controlled studies counting aggression, and its long-term estimate crossed no effect.
So what for you: treat an incident claim from a VR pilot as new evidence and ask for its design.
Tang and colleagues rated 3 studies at Level 3. All 3 treated aggressive patients; every staff training study stopped at Level 1 or 2.
Of 25 simulation studies with 2,790 participants, 24 of 25 were at high or serious risk of bias and 4 of 25 collected patient outcomes (Mitchell 2024).
Confidence
Not reliably: confidence rises in almost every study, yet in 4 of 6 studies measuring self-report and observed skill together, the measures disagreed.
Different outcomes and designs; read each bar alone.
| Measure | Standardised effect |
|---|---|
| Confidence, controlled studies (Chung 2025) | 0.85 |
| Confidence, uncontrolled studies (Chung 2025) | 0.71 |
| Confidence after a 20-minute VR session (Johnson 2026) | 0.70 |
| Knowledge (Geoffrion 2020) | 0.86 |
| Skills (Geoffrion 2020) | 0.21 |
Standardised mean difference or Cohen’s d, published 2020 to 2026. Source: Chung 2025; Johnson 2026; Geoffrion 2020.
Pooled confidence sits at 0.85 in controlled studies and knowledge at 0.86. The Cochrane skill estimate was 0.21, with an interval that includes no effect.
So what for you: put an observed skill measure beside every confidence survey.
In a cluster randomised trial of 26 psychiatry residents, simulated performance rose (d = 1.6) while confidence matched control. In a paediatric trial and a medical school OSCE, observed skill did not differ while self-ratings rose.
Johnson and colleagues ran a 20-minute VR session with 223 participants in Australian nursing programs. Confidence rose (d = 0.70), 93% called VR suitable and 89% wanted more, with no comparison group or later check.
In Taiwan, 54 nurses rated confidence at 60.04 before 360 video VR and 71.93 after, measured on the day (Lin 2026).
Incidents
Controlled studies have not shown it: the Cochrane review (1,688 participants) put the long-term risk ratio at 1.14, an interval spanning no effect.
Heckemann 2015 found no change in patient aggression and Brenig 2023 no relevant impact on forensic ward incidents; in Okubo 2022, 4 of 11 controlled studies reported less violence and the pooled estimate was null.
A psychiatric emergency program recorded 35% fewer restraints and 52% fewer injuries over 5 months after simulation than before, with no control group, alongside teamwork and crisis prevention programs (Bowllan 2025).
In an emergency medicine residency, 28% of residents reported assault before its program, 11.3% a year after, and 30.6% 5 years later, once in-person training had stopped (Roppolo 2025).
| Measure | Studies |
|---|---|
| Immediate, end of session | 35 of 50 |
| Under 3 months | 2 of 50 |
| 3 to 6 months | 7 of 50 |
| Over 6 months | 1 of 50 |
| Not reported | 5 of 50 |
Studies by their longest follow-up, published 2015 to 2026, coded by PTR. Source: Europe PMC; PubMed.
35 of 50 studies measured on the day and not again, and 1 of 50 looked beyond 6 months. A reading taken at the session overstates what lasts.
So what for you: build a later check into the pilot plan before the pilot starts.
Head to head
In the short term, perhaps: 22 police officers in VR and 20 in live action each beat 21 controls by similar margins (Lavoie 2023).
1 of 14 VR studies compared VR with live practice. Officers were allocated by scheduling availability, outliers were removed, and follow-up was short.
An NHS feasibility trial allocated wards to VR training (34 staff) or usual care (22 staff). Restrictive practice fell with fluctuation on wards that started higher, and 8 and 5 remained at the 6-month follow-up.
Western Sydney clinicians (28 participants, Moore 2022) found talking with a virtual agent feasible but flagged motion sickness and privacy; a US pilot with 13 providers scored usability 63.30 out of 100.
Demand
Increasingly: worldwide searches for de-escalation training rose 5.8 times from 2022 to 2025, and for workplace violence training 5.1 times (Google Trends).
US states with laws to prevent health care workplace violence went from 11 before 2015 to 27 by June 2024 (Lombardi 2026).
The OSHA rule on workplace violence in health care sits among long-term actions, with no proposal date.
Evidence table
Design, sample, measure and result for each source.
| Study | Design | Sample | What was measured | Result |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tang et al. (2026), Frontiers in Medicine | Review, VR | 15 studies | Kirkpatrick level | None tested organisational impact |
| Geoffrion et al. (2020), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews | Review, controlled designs | 9 studies, 1,688 participants | Aggression, knowledge, skills | RR 1.14; knowledge 0.86; skills 0.21 |
| Mitchell et al. (2024), International Journal of Nursing Studies | Review, simulation | 25 studies, 2,790 participants | Learning, performance | 24 of 25 high or serious bias risk |
| Chung et al. (2025), International Nursing Review | Meta-analysis | 10 studies | Confidence | SMD 0.85; d 0.71 |
| Kyaw et al. (2019), Journal of Medical Internet Research | Meta-analysis, VR education | 31 trials | Knowledge, skills | Skills SMD 1.12; no behaviour outcomes |
| Jameyfield et al. (2026), Academic Medicine | Review, verbal de-escalation | 56 studies | Evidence strength | 12 of 56 strong, all blended |
| Okubo et al. (2022), Revista Latino-Americana de Enfermagem | Meta-analysis | 11 studies | Violence | 4 of 11 positive; pooled null |
| Johnson et al. (2026), Teaching and Learning in Nursing | Uncontrolled, VR | 223 enrolled, 221 analysed | Confidence | d = 0.70 |
| Lavoie et al. (2023), Policing | Non-randomised, 3 arms | 63 officers | Scored de-escalation | VR and live comparable |
| Phiri et al. (2024), World Journal of Psychiatry | Feasibility, wards allocated | 34 staff, 22 staff | Restrictive practice | Fell, with fluctuation |
| Vestal et al. (2017), Academic Psychiatry | Cluster randomised trial | 26 residents | Performance, confidence | d = 1.6; confidence same |
| Bowllan et al. (2025), J Am Psychiatr Nurses Assoc | Before and after service data | Emergency program staff | Restraints, injuries | 35% and 52% fewer; no control |
| Roppolo et al. (2025), AEM Education and Training | Repeated survey | Residents | Reported assault | 28%, 11.3%, 30.6% |
For buyers
Use the evidence to set the questions, the measures and the promise.
Board paper lines, ready to paste into a business case
Of 50 VR and simulation de-escalation studies from 2015 to 2026, 41 of 50 measured reaction or learning, and every study reporting incidents (8 of 50) used an uncontrolled or feasibility design (PTR evidence table, 2026). A Cochrane review of education to prevent aggression toward health workers reported a long-term risk ratio of 1.14, an interval that includes no effect (Geoffrion and colleagues, 2020). Confidence gains are large, a pooled standardised mean difference of 0.85 in controlled studies (Chung and colleagues, 2025), so evaluations need observed skill and incident baselines too.
What the data cannot show, and how each figure was read.
PTR builds VR and AI practice for these moments, and designs pilots that reach past the training room with an observed skill measure, a comparator and a later check. See VR de-escalation training, de-escalation training programs, AI roleplay practice and training for safety and wellbeing leads. PTR built the VR program in a Mayo Clinic randomised study that followed nursing leaders for up to 8 months; it measured empathy, not de-escalation.
Free to quote and cite with a link to this page. Name the version you read, so readers can see what has changed since.
APA 7
Loza, K. (2026, September 27). 41 of 50 studies stop in the training room: what VR de-escalation research has and has not measured (Version 2.0). People Tech Revolution. https://peopletechrevolution.com/insights/vr-de-escalation-training-evidence
Data: PTR evidence table of 50 studies coded from Europe PMC and PubMed, 2015 to 2026; reviews by Tang, Geoffrion, Mitchell, Chung and Kyaw; PubMed E-utilities counts; BLS Table R8; Google Trends; Joint Commission R3 Reports. Read 26 September 2026.
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| Version 2.0 | Rebuilt on a 50-study evidence table, 30 reviews, PubMed counts and BLS incidence data: key numbers, 6 charts, an evidence table, decisions and limits. | |
| Version 1.0 | First published. |
Each study and dataset at its publisher.












Violence rates, 2011 to 2018.


Hospital training requirements.

The level definitions.