35 of 50 published VR and simulation de-escalation studies, 2015 to 2026, measured on the day and never again (Europe PMC).
By Kim Loza, Head of Product at People Tech Revolution
35 of 50
studies measured on the day and not again
VR and simulation studies, 2015 to 2026
41 of 50
stopped at reaction or learning measures
VR and simulation studies, 2015 to 2026
4 of 6
where self-report and observation disagreed
Studies with self-report and observation, 2017 to 2026
20%
of trained staff answered the later check
Young et al., 2022
The published norm
Mostly how staff felt and what they learned on the day: 41 of 50 VR and simulation studies from 2015 to 2026 stopped at reaction or learning.
Kirkpatrick Partners define Level 1 as reaction and Level 2 as learning, including confidence. Level 3 asks whether staff perform the critical behaviours at work; Level 4, whether the organisation’s targeted outcomes occur.
Behaviour at work appeared in 1 study, by self-report. 8 of 50 reported restraint, injury or assault data, all from uncontrolled before and after projects or a feasibility trial on 3 wards.
In a 2024 simulation review, 4 of 25 studies collected primary outcome data. A 2026 review of VR de-escalation training found none of its 15 studies evaluated organisational impact.
| Measure | Percent of studies |
|---|---|
| Reaction or learning, all 50 | 82% |
| Reaction or learning, VR 14 | 93% |
| Comparison group, all 50 | 26% |
| Comparison group, VR 14 | 21% |
| On the day, never again, all 50 | 70% |
| On the day, never again, VR 14 | 93% |
Percent of studies, 2015 to 2026. Source: Europe PMC and PubMed records coded by PTR.
Of the 14 VR studies, 13 stopped at reaction or learning and 13 never measured again.
So what for you: A pilot with a comparison group and a later check already sits above the published norm.
| Measure | Studies of 50 |
|---|---|
| On the day, never again | 35 of 50 |
| At 2 weeks | 2 of 50 |
| At 3 to 6 months | 7 of 50 |
| Over 6 months | 1 of 50 |
| Not reported | 5 of 50 |
Studies, 2015 to 2026. Source: Europe PMC and PubMed records coded by PTR.
Learners were measured again at 3 months or later in 5 studies; the others that looked later counted service data.
So what for you: Book the later check into the roster before the pilot starts.
Self-report and observation
Not on its own: in 4 of 6 studies that measured self-report and observation, what staff reported and what an observer scored moved apart.
In a 2017 cluster randomised trial with 26 residents, filmed performance in simulated agitation cases rose (Cohen’s d = 1.6) while self-rated confidence did not differ between groups.
In a 2019 randomised trial, residents’ self-assessed skill rose (p <= .03) but standardised patient ratings did not beat control. After a 2025 curriculum, confidence rose from 2.79 to 4.11 out of 5; an OSCE found no skill difference.
Surgical residents in a 2026 simulation series counted more de-escalation techniques themselves (p = 0.02); a facilitator saw no significant difference (p = 0.11). A modified observation scale rose from 23.1 to 27.8.
AHRQ’s TeamSTEPPS guidance warns that training can sensitise staff so that their survey ratings dip for a while, and recommends direct observation in addition to surveys. Its test: “If training does not change behavior, it was not successful.”
The De-escalating Aggressive Behaviour Scale rates observed skill on 7 items (alpha 0.87 and 0.88; raters agree at 0.77 to 0.93). The Confidence in Coping with Patient Aggression instrument (alpha 0.81) was used in 5 of 10 studies in a 2025 meta-analysis.
After the session
Part of it fades: hospitalists in a 2023 study kept 55% to 67% of their confidence gain at 3 to 12 months.
| Measure | Percent of gain |
|---|---|
| Hospitalists, 3 months | 55% |
| Hospitalists, 6 months | 67% |
| Hospitalists, 12 months | 66% |
| Clinicians, 3 months | 94% |
Percent of gain, self-report, 2022 and 2023. Source: Gupta et al., 2023; Young et al., 2022.
Gupta’s hospitalists scored 43.2 before in-person training, 68.5 straight after, then 57.2, 60.2 and 59.9 at 3, 6 and 12 months. Young’s clinicians held 94% of their gain, on 24 of 122 answering.
So what for you: Plan a repeat at about 3 months and expect a smaller gain than on the day.
A 1998 meta-analysis of 189 data points found skill loss grew from 0.01 standard deviations straight after training to 1.4 after more than a year unused, faster for cognitive tasks than physical ones.
| Measure | Percent answering |
|---|---|
| Young 2022, 3 months | 20% |
| Phiri 2024, 6 months | 23% |
| Mitchell 2020, 3 to 6 months | 30% |
Percent of those trained, 2020 to 2024. Source: Young et al., 2022; Phiri et al., 2024; Mitchell et al., 2020.
44 of 146 staff answered at 3 to 6 months; 13 of 56 ward staff gave 6-month samples, too few to test.
So what for you: Later responders may differ from the rest; size the group for the later check.
The median published study analysed 56 people. A 2026 VR study needed 34 participants for a moderate effect (d = 0.50) and approached 62; a 2022 study with 24 learners could not detect group differences.
Service data
Rates with a baseline as long as the follow-up, such as restraints per emergency visit.
A 2023 emergency department pilot reported monthly restraints as a ratio of that month’s visits, over the 6 months before and after training.
A 2025 psychiatric emergency project recorded 35% fewer restraints and 52% fewer injuries over 5 months after simulation than before, with teamwork perceptions unchanged. With no comparison, staffing, reporting and chance remain explanations.
The EDITION feasibility trial on 10 wards collected 8 weeks before training, 8 of embedding and 8 after. Its authors write that “there have been no high-quality trials evaluating the effectiveness” of de-escalation training.
The Safewards cluster trial randomised 31 wards and counted incidents per shift: conflict was 15% and containment 23.2% lower than on control wards (corrected figures). Safewards is a set of ward interventions, broader than a course.
| 2008-09 | 2009-10 | 2010-11 | 2011-12 | 2012-13 | 2013-14 | 2014-15 | 2015-16 | 2016-17 | 2017-18 | 2018-19 | 2019-20 | 2020-21 | 2021-22 | 2022-23 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seclusion | 15.6 | 13.9 | 12.1 | 10.6 | 9.8 | 8.2 | 7.9 | 8.1 | 7.4 | 6.9 | 7.2 | 8.1 | 7.3 | 7 | 6 |
| Physical restraint | 11.2 | 10.1 | 10.3 | 11.4 | 11.0 | 11.6 |
Events per 1,000 bed days; last 2 years rounded, 2008-09 to 2022-23. Source: AIHW tables RP.5 and RP.8; AIHW.
Seclusion fell from 15.6 (2008-09) to 6 (2022-23); physical restraint stayed between 10 and 12 from 2015-16.
So what for you: Report your ward’s own rate on the same denominator, before and after.
| 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Physical violence from patients or the public | 14.57% | 14.82% | 13.88% | 14.38% | 14.47% |
Percent of staff, 2021 to 2025. Source: NHS Staff Survey briefing 2025.
The share ranged from 13.88% to 14.82% over 5 years on the same question, and stood at 14.47% in 2025.
So what for you: Keep the question fixed, and read a small change as noise.
PTR-built projects
Evaluation design rather than de-escalation outcomes: 73.2% of eligible leaders completed baseline in a Mayo Clinic study with a control group; 30% returned an optional survey after Google’s training.
| Measure | Percent |
|---|---|
| Mayo Clinic study, baseline survey | 73.2% |
| Mayo Clinic education evaluation | 52.4% |
| Google training, optional survey | 30% |
Percent of those eligible, 2022 to 2024. Source: Social Science & Medicine, 2024; Journal of Nursing Administration; CHI 2024 paper.
PTR built the VR for the Mayo Clinic study, where 841 of 1,149 eligible leaders completed baseline. In the Google training, built with Equal Reality, a subsidiary of People Tech Revolution, 7 of 26 trainees returned an optional survey.
So what for you: Neither project is a de-escalation study; they show how design changes who answers.
Mater’s own evaluation of its immersive pilot, with more than 60 participants: 90% reported better concentration, 77% found it more engaging than face-to-face delivery, 93% enjoyed it. All Level 1.
Demand
Obligations are growing: since January 2022 the Joint Commission has asked US hospitals to train staff at hire and annually.
Under the Joint Commission’s standards, hospitals train at hire, annually and when the program changes, and run an annual worksite analysis. US states with prevention laws rose from 11 before 2015 to 27 by June 2024 (Health Affairs Scholar).
Worldwide search interest in de-escalation training averaged 3.35 across 2022 and 19.37 across 2025 on Google Trends’ relative scale. The federal OSHA healthcare rule moved to the long-term agenda in March 2026 (GAO).
The plan
An observed behaviour, a confidence scale and a service indicator, each with a baseline and a repeat at about 3 months.
Kirkpatrick Partners advise starting with Level 4 and the program’s purpose, with early and later indicators, then working back to the behaviour that should change.
A 2020 Cochrane review asks for institutional aggression reports, validated measures, a 1-year follow-up and an active comparison, so reporting does not rise in the trained group alone.
AHRQ notes existing organisational data make results more credible and less burdensome to collect, if they cover the trained area and the period after training.
Evidence
The primary studies behind each figure, with design and sample.
| Study | Design | Sample | What was measured | Result |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vestal et al. (2017), Academic Psychiatry | Cluster randomised trial | 26 residents | Performance; confidence | d = 1.6; confidence did not differ |
| Weaver et al. (2026), Simulation in Healthcare | Simulation series | 16 residents | Technique counts; mDABS | Counts disagreed; 23.1 to 27.8 |
| Young et al. (2022), Int J Ment Health Nurs | Pre-post, follow up | 122, then 24 | Self-efficacy | 62.9, 83.2, 81.9 |
| Gupta et al. (2023), J Community Hosp Intern Med Perspect | Pre-post to 12 months | 37 hospitalists | Confidence | 43.2 to 68.5; 59.9 later |
| Bowllan et al. (2025), J Am Psychiatr Nurses Assoc | Before and after | Psychiatric emergency unit | Restraints, injuries | 35% and 52% fewer |
| Price et al. (2024), Health Technol Assess | Feasibility trial | 10 wards | Conflict, containment | 8 weeks each side |
| Bowers et al. (2015), Int J Nurs Stud | Cluster randomised trial | 31 wards | Incidents per shift | 15% and 23.2% lower (corrected) |
Decisions
Decisions the figures inform, written as actions for the pilot plan.
Board paper lines, ready to paste into a business case
41 of 50 published VR and simulation de-escalation training studies from 2015 to 2026 stopped at reaction or learning measures, and 35 of 50 measured on the day and never again (PTR coding of Europe PMC and PubMed records, 2026). In 4 of 6 studies that measured self-report and observation, they disagreed, and AHRQ TeamSTEPPS guidance recommends direct observation in addition to staff surveys. Our pilot will score an observed behaviour on a validated scale, repeat it at 3 months, and report incidents per 1,000 bed days against a matched baseline, as the EDITION trial did with 8 weeks each side.
What these figures cannot show, and how they were counted.
PTR builds de-escalation practice in a headset, on screen and with AI characters, and plans the measures with the pilot. See de-escalation training, VR de-escalation training, how a pilot runs, the business case and evaluation and what earlier projects measured.
Free to quote and cite with a link to this page. Name the version you read, so readers can see what has changed since.
APA 7
Loza, K. (2026, September 27). Most pilots measure on the day: how to evaluate de-escalation practice so the result holds (Version 2.0). People Tech Revolution. https://peopletechrevolution.com/insights/evaluate-de-escalation-training-pilot
Data: 50 primary VR and simulation de-escalation training studies from Europe PMC and PubMed (2015 to 2026), coded by PTR; the cited trials and reviews; AIHW restrictive practices tables (2022); NHS Staff Survey briefing 2025; Kirkpatrick Partners and AHRQ guidance. Read 26 September 2026. The Mayo Clinic and Google response rates illustrate evaluation design, not de-escalation outcomes.
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| Version 2.0 | Rebuilt on published study data: 50 coded de-escalation studies, self-report against observation, retention, AIHW and NHS series; 7 charts, evidence table, decisions and limits. | |
| Version 1.0 | First published. |
Each study, dataset and framework at its publisher.

The levels and where evaluation design starts.

Observation beside surveys; data from the trained area and period.

Observation worksheet and questionnaires.





An observation rubric with reliability figures.




National rates per 1,000 bed days.

Staff reporting physical violence.

Organisational impact in VR studies.

Training at hire and annually.
35 of 50 published VR and simulation de-escalation studies, 2015 to 2026, measured on the day and never again (Europe PMC).
By Kim Loza, Head of Product at People Tech Revolution
35 of 50
studies measured on the day and not again
VR and simulation studies, 2015 to 2026
41 of 50
stopped at reaction or learning measures
VR and simulation studies, 2015 to 2026
4 of 6
where self-report and observation disagreed
Studies with self-report and observation, 2017 to 2026
20%
of trained staff answered the later check
Young et al., 2022
The published norm
Mostly how staff felt and what they learned on the day: 41 of 50 VR and simulation studies from 2015 to 2026 stopped at reaction or learning.
Kirkpatrick Partners define Level 1 as reaction and Level 2 as learning, including confidence. Level 3 asks whether staff perform the critical behaviours at work; Level 4, whether the organisation’s targeted outcomes occur.
Behaviour at work appeared in 1 study, by self-report. 8 of 50 reported restraint, injury or assault data, all from uncontrolled before and after projects or a feasibility trial on 3 wards.
In a 2024 simulation review, 4 of 25 studies collected primary outcome data. A 2026 review of VR de-escalation training found none of its 15 studies evaluated organisational impact.
| Measure | Percent of studies |
|---|---|
| Reaction or learning, all 50 | 82% |
| Reaction or learning, VR 14 | 93% |
| Comparison group, all 50 | 26% |
| Comparison group, VR 14 | 21% |
| On the day, never again, all 50 | 70% |
| On the day, never again, VR 14 | 93% |
Percent of studies, 2015 to 2026. Source: Europe PMC and PubMed records coded by PTR.
Of the 14 VR studies, 13 stopped at reaction or learning and 13 never measured again.
So what for you: A pilot with a comparison group and a later check already sits above the published norm.
| Measure | Studies of 50 |
|---|---|
| On the day, never again | 35 of 50 |
| At 2 weeks | 2 of 50 |
| At 3 to 6 months | 7 of 50 |
| Over 6 months | 1 of 50 |
| Not reported | 5 of 50 |
Studies, 2015 to 2026. Source: Europe PMC and PubMed records coded by PTR.
Learners were measured again at 3 months or later in 5 studies; the others that looked later counted service data.
So what for you: Book the later check into the roster before the pilot starts.
Self-report and observation
Not on its own: in 4 of 6 studies that measured self-report and observation, what staff reported and what an observer scored moved apart.
In a 2017 cluster randomised trial with 26 residents, filmed performance in simulated agitation cases rose (Cohen’s d = 1.6) while self-rated confidence did not differ between groups.
In a 2019 randomised trial, residents’ self-assessed skill rose (p <= .03) but standardised patient ratings did not beat control. After a 2025 curriculum, confidence rose from 2.79 to 4.11 out of 5; an OSCE found no skill difference.
Surgical residents in a 2026 simulation series counted more de-escalation techniques themselves (p = 0.02); a facilitator saw no significant difference (p = 0.11). A modified observation scale rose from 23.1 to 27.8.
AHRQ’s TeamSTEPPS guidance warns that training can sensitise staff so that their survey ratings dip for a while, and recommends direct observation in addition to surveys. Its test: “If training does not change behavior, it was not successful.”
The De-escalating Aggressive Behaviour Scale rates observed skill on 7 items (alpha 0.87 and 0.88; raters agree at 0.77 to 0.93). The Confidence in Coping with Patient Aggression instrument (alpha 0.81) was used in 5 of 10 studies in a 2025 meta-analysis.
After the session
Part of it fades: hospitalists in a 2023 study kept 55% to 67% of their confidence gain at 3 to 12 months.
| Measure | Percent of gain |
|---|---|
| Hospitalists, 3 months | 55% |
| Hospitalists, 6 months | 67% |
| Hospitalists, 12 months | 66% |
| Clinicians, 3 months | 94% |
Percent of gain, self-report, 2022 and 2023. Source: Gupta et al., 2023; Young et al., 2022.
Gupta’s hospitalists scored 43.2 before in-person training, 68.5 straight after, then 57.2, 60.2 and 59.9 at 3, 6 and 12 months. Young’s clinicians held 94% of their gain, on 24 of 122 answering.
So what for you: Plan a repeat at about 3 months and expect a smaller gain than on the day.
A 1998 meta-analysis of 189 data points found skill loss grew from 0.01 standard deviations straight after training to 1.4 after more than a year unused, faster for cognitive tasks than physical ones.
| Measure | Percent answering |
|---|---|
| Young 2022, 3 months | 20% |
| Phiri 2024, 6 months | 23% |
| Mitchell 2020, 3 to 6 months | 30% |
Percent of those trained, 2020 to 2024. Source: Young et al., 2022; Phiri et al., 2024; Mitchell et al., 2020.
44 of 146 staff answered at 3 to 6 months; 13 of 56 ward staff gave 6-month samples, too few to test.
So what for you: Later responders may differ from the rest; size the group for the later check.
The median published study analysed 56 people. A 2026 VR study needed 34 participants for a moderate effect (d = 0.50) and approached 62; a 2022 study with 24 learners could not detect group differences.
Service data
Rates with a baseline as long as the follow-up, such as restraints per emergency visit.
A 2023 emergency department pilot reported monthly restraints as a ratio of that month’s visits, over the 6 months before and after training.
A 2025 psychiatric emergency project recorded 35% fewer restraints and 52% fewer injuries over 5 months after simulation than before, with teamwork perceptions unchanged. With no comparison, staffing, reporting and chance remain explanations.
The EDITION feasibility trial on 10 wards collected 8 weeks before training, 8 of embedding and 8 after. Its authors write that “there have been no high-quality trials evaluating the effectiveness” of de-escalation training.
The Safewards cluster trial randomised 31 wards and counted incidents per shift: conflict was 15% and containment 23.2% lower than on control wards (corrected figures). Safewards is a set of ward interventions, broader than a course.
| 2008-09 | 2009-10 | 2010-11 | 2011-12 | 2012-13 | 2013-14 | 2014-15 | 2015-16 | 2016-17 | 2017-18 | 2018-19 | 2019-20 | 2020-21 | 2021-22 | 2022-23 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seclusion | 15.6 | 13.9 | 12.1 | 10.6 | 9.8 | 8.2 | 7.9 | 8.1 | 7.4 | 6.9 | 7.2 | 8.1 | 7.3 | 7 | 6 |
| Physical restraint | 11.2 | 10.1 | 10.3 | 11.4 | 11.0 | 11.6 |
Events per 1,000 bed days; last 2 years rounded, 2008-09 to 2022-23. Source: AIHW tables RP.5 and RP.8; AIHW.
Seclusion fell from 15.6 (2008-09) to 6 (2022-23); physical restraint stayed between 10 and 12 from 2015-16.
So what for you: Report your ward’s own rate on the same denominator, before and after.
| 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Physical violence from patients or the public | 14.57% | 14.82% | 13.88% | 14.38% | 14.47% |
Percent of staff, 2021 to 2025. Source: NHS Staff Survey briefing 2025.
The share ranged from 13.88% to 14.82% over 5 years on the same question, and stood at 14.47% in 2025.
So what for you: Keep the question fixed, and read a small change as noise.
PTR-built projects
Evaluation design rather than de-escalation outcomes: 73.2% of eligible leaders completed baseline in a Mayo Clinic study with a control group; 30% returned an optional survey after Google’s training.
| Measure | Percent |
|---|---|
| Mayo Clinic study, baseline survey | 73.2% |
| Mayo Clinic education evaluation | 52.4% |
| Google training, optional survey | 30% |
Percent of those eligible, 2022 to 2024. Source: Social Science & Medicine, 2024; Journal of Nursing Administration; CHI 2024 paper.
PTR built the VR for the Mayo Clinic study, where 841 of 1,149 eligible leaders completed baseline. In the Google training, built with Equal Reality, a subsidiary of People Tech Revolution, 7 of 26 trainees returned an optional survey.
So what for you: Neither project is a de-escalation study; they show how design changes who answers.
Mater’s own evaluation of its immersive pilot, with more than 60 participants: 90% reported better concentration, 77% found it more engaging than face-to-face delivery, 93% enjoyed it. All Level 1.
Demand
Obligations are growing: since January 2022 the Joint Commission has asked US hospitals to train staff at hire and annually.
Under the Joint Commission’s standards, hospitals train at hire, annually and when the program changes, and run an annual worksite analysis. US states with prevention laws rose from 11 before 2015 to 27 by June 2024 (Health Affairs Scholar).
Worldwide search interest in de-escalation training averaged 3.35 across 2022 and 19.37 across 2025 on Google Trends’ relative scale. The federal OSHA healthcare rule moved to the long-term agenda in March 2026 (GAO).
The plan
An observed behaviour, a confidence scale and a service indicator, each with a baseline and a repeat at about 3 months.
Kirkpatrick Partners advise starting with Level 4 and the program’s purpose, with early and later indicators, then working back to the behaviour that should change.
A 2020 Cochrane review asks for institutional aggression reports, validated measures, a 1-year follow-up and an active comparison, so reporting does not rise in the trained group alone.
AHRQ notes existing organisational data make results more credible and less burdensome to collect, if they cover the trained area and the period after training.
Evidence
The primary studies behind each figure, with design and sample.
| Study | Design | Sample | What was measured | Result |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vestal et al. (2017), Academic Psychiatry | Cluster randomised trial | 26 residents | Performance; confidence | d = 1.6; confidence did not differ |
| Weaver et al. (2026), Simulation in Healthcare | Simulation series | 16 residents | Technique counts; mDABS | Counts disagreed; 23.1 to 27.8 |
| Young et al. (2022), Int J Ment Health Nurs | Pre-post, follow up | 122, then 24 | Self-efficacy | 62.9, 83.2, 81.9 |
| Gupta et al. (2023), J Community Hosp Intern Med Perspect | Pre-post to 12 months | 37 hospitalists | Confidence | 43.2 to 68.5; 59.9 later |
| Bowllan et al. (2025), J Am Psychiatr Nurses Assoc | Before and after | Psychiatric emergency unit | Restraints, injuries | 35% and 52% fewer |
| Price et al. (2024), Health Technol Assess | Feasibility trial | 10 wards | Conflict, containment | 8 weeks each side |
| Bowers et al. (2015), Int J Nurs Stud | Cluster randomised trial | 31 wards | Incidents per shift | 15% and 23.2% lower (corrected) |
Decisions
Decisions the figures inform, written as actions for the pilot plan.
Board paper lines, ready to paste into a business case
41 of 50 published VR and simulation de-escalation training studies from 2015 to 2026 stopped at reaction or learning measures, and 35 of 50 measured on the day and never again (PTR coding of Europe PMC and PubMed records, 2026). In 4 of 6 studies that measured self-report and observation, they disagreed, and AHRQ TeamSTEPPS guidance recommends direct observation in addition to staff surveys. Our pilot will score an observed behaviour on a validated scale, repeat it at 3 months, and report incidents per 1,000 bed days against a matched baseline, as the EDITION trial did with 8 weeks each side.
What these figures cannot show, and how they were counted.
PTR builds de-escalation practice in a headset, on screen and with AI characters, and plans the measures with the pilot. See de-escalation training, VR de-escalation training, how a pilot runs, the business case and evaluation and what earlier projects measured.
Free to quote and cite with a link to this page. Name the version you read, so readers can see what has changed since.
APA 7
Loza, K. (2026, September 27). Most pilots measure on the day: how to evaluate de-escalation practice so the result holds (Version 2.0). People Tech Revolution. https://peopletechrevolution.com/insights/evaluate-de-escalation-training-pilot
Data: 50 primary VR and simulation de-escalation training studies from Europe PMC and PubMed (2015 to 2026), coded by PTR; the cited trials and reviews; AIHW restrictive practices tables (2022); NHS Staff Survey briefing 2025; Kirkpatrick Partners and AHRQ guidance. Read 26 September 2026. The Mayo Clinic and Google response rates illustrate evaluation design, not de-escalation outcomes.
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| Version 2.0 | Rebuilt on published study data: 50 coded de-escalation studies, self-report against observation, retention, AIHW and NHS series; 7 charts, evidence table, decisions and limits. | |
| Version 1.0 | First published. |
Each study, dataset and framework at its publisher.

The levels and where evaluation design starts.

Observation beside surveys; data from the trained area and period.

Observation worksheet and questionnaires.





An observation rubric with reliability figures.




National rates per 1,000 bed days.

Staff reporting physical violence.

Organisational impact in VR studies.

Training at hire and annually.